Our Lady’s WiFiS

UPDATED 17 July 2012

Hi, friends. You’re invited to consider joining me to form a new Catholic ladies’ Scripture/book study group that is ideal for stay-at-home moms and anyone else who finds it hard to get to local church-based study groups – a phone-chat study group!

As a SAHM living with my husband and six small children in an outlying area, I’ve wanted to do something like this for awhile, and I’ve now found the ideal technology and book to begin it. The technology is the free Skype group-call feature, and the book is “Walking with God: A Journey Through the Bible.”

For the present, I’ve named the group “Our Lady’s WiFiS” (Women inquiring Faithfully into Scripture), under the patronage of St. Teresa Benedicta of the Cross (St. Edith Stein, the intellectual, Jewish convert, and Carmelite nun murdered by the Nazis).

The tech

If you would like to join the discussion, simply tell me your Skype name and I’ll add you to the group call!

The book

I recently reviewed “Walking with God” on my blog. Please read my review for details about this excellent opportunity to read what is basically an inexpensive short-course in the narrative of the Scriptures, a narrative that we know in bits-and-pieces from Mass and other studies, but is here presented systematically.

You can order the book less expensively on Amazon.

In addition, I have and will be using the chart and journal that I mention in my review to help with a weekly content summary and to generate discussion questions.

Join the group call!

If you’d like to be added, please let me know as early as possible, and if you are having problems with the group call, please send me an SOS on Facebook or at weareacatholicfamily@live.com .

Here are some details, subject to tweaking as we see what works and what doesn’t:

Weekly Discussion Plan

All times are Pacific; come and go as you’d like.

7:00 p.m.: Group call and greet
7:10 p.m.: Opening prayer
7:15-8:20: Discussion
8:20: Wrap-up
8:25: Closing prayer
8:30: Hang-up

Study Schedule

All chats after the Test Run will be open on Tuesday evenings from 7-8:30 p.m. Pacific time.

Friday, 8 June 2012, 7-7:30 p.m. Pacific time: Test Run. Anyone who wants to test-out their download of ooVoo, ask any questions, or just gab with new and old friends is welcome!

12 June 2012: Introduction (“Finding Scripture’s Story”)

techincal difficulties

10 July 2012: Ch. 1 (“Early World”)
17 July 2012: Ch. 2 (“Patriarchs”)

24 July 2012: break (OLPH VBS and my 8th wedding anniversary 🙂 )

31 July 2012: Ch. 3 (“Egypt and Exodus”)

7 August 2012: Ch. 4 (“Desert Wanderings”)
14 August 2012: Ch. 5 (“Conquest and Judges”)
21 August 2012: Ch. 6 (“Royal Kingdom”)

28 August 2012: Ch. 7 (“Divided Kingdom”)

4 September 2012: Ch. 8 (“Exile”)
11 September 2012: Ch. 9 (“Return”)
18 September 2012: Ch. 10 (“Maccabean Revolt”) and nominations for next book

25 September 2012: Ch. 11 (“Messianic Fulfillment”) and discussion of nominations for next book
2 October 2012: Ch. 12 (“The Church”), Book Wrap-Up, and selection of next book

Feel free to share the invitation!

The odds are pretty good that I’ve forgotten to send this to someone, even though I’ve scoured my e-mail address book and Facebook friends list, so if you think of any other Catholic ladies you’d like to invite, please feel free to share this with them, too. The more the merrier.

And, God bless us everyone! 🙂 Kristen

